Family

TGIF!

Friday is finally here and for me that means my husband is off work for the next two days! Yay! Of course, as everyone is well aware of I’m sure, Sunday is valentine’s day. Now, I’m all for a day where chocolate is an expected gift, but valentine’s day has always been a holiday I have seen as slightly annoying. People who are in relationships are stressing trying to plan the perfect day that tops last year, and people who aren’t in relationships are reminded that they’re single and the only chocolate they’re getting is from a friend, or parent (or if you buy it the day after when it’s 50% off, which you definitely don’t need to be single to do).

Now, I may sound like a conspiracy theorist, but it’s basically just a day created to stimulate the economy. I love my husband, but do I want to repeat the process of trying to find a perfect, thoughtful gift just 2 months after I did the same thing for Christmas? No. Not at all. Of course mine doesn’t like chocolate or that would be easy. How many times have I mentioned chocolate already? I really like chocolate.

wp-1455298877599.jpg

Now, this valentine’s day is going to be a little different than last year, since it’s our first with  Ellee. Basically, we will be ordering a pizza and watching a movie with our little bear instead of going out. Totally what I would choose to do everyday, but definitely a change from getting dressed up and going out. Maybe that will happen next year, but we are still in that “don’t want to ask to babysit” stage where the guilt of leaving your baby is insurmountable. But we will get there. Maybe.

Now back to the topic at hand: valentine’s day.  Love day. Just a little background here: my husband and I have been together for 11 years, and married for 3 in September. We met in weight training class my sophomore year of high school and it took us a whole 5 months of talking before we started dating. We’re definitely the cliché “I married my best friend” couple. He’s awesome, and he makes sure I know how much he loves me, and our daughter,  everyday. He gets up at 4 a.m. to get ready for work and usually doesn’t get home until 5 at night. He usually ends up working 6 days a week but that one day he’s off he will wake up and take the morning shift so I can sleep in a little longer. He will change her diapers, feed,  and play with her every chance he gets. He is truly the best dad and husband I could have ever asked for! And that deserves a box of chocolate everyday (if only he liked chocolate..).

image

Which brings me to the point of this post: appreciation. Valentine’s day is really just about appreciating the person you’re with on a day where everyone else is doing the same (and posting it on Facebook). So even if I think it’s a stupid holiday made up by corporations, you can bet I will always make sure to have a gift with a thoughtful, handwritten card because I want my husband to know how much I appreciate him and what he does for our family, and it’s kind of nice to have a day where you both focus on just each other, even if it’s forced upon us by society. Just make sure you don’t do it once a year, do a little everyday. I think that’s the key to keeping a long term relationship going strong.
I hope everyone has a beautiful Friday, a great weekend, and an amazing valentine’s day! 💘🍫 P.S. I’ll take any chocolate you don’t want😉

6 thoughts on “TGIF!

  1. I love reading these! Since I can’t see you everyday I feel like I’m having a conversation with you! I love you! And I hope you guys have an amazing Valentines day 😍!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is wonderful Cheech! What a great read! I’m still in the “I don’t ask people to babysit because of guilt – mode” it takes awhile. Keep writing. You’re good at it. 😘 Love to you and your beautiful family!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

